Irisan mediates cases best

Posted on June 8, 2012


by ramon dacawi

BAGUIO CITY–The city’s biggest barangay  again stood tall last week, besting 24 other finalists in the city’s search for the most outstanding  in terms of settling minor cases under the “Lupong Tagapamayapa” system.

Irisan barangay, with a population of  24,064 as of 2007 and an area of 669.62 hectares, led the field for the  top prize of P30,000. As such, it will represent the city in the regional level of competitions of the annual awards program.

Punong  barangay Thomas Dumalti, one of this year’s outstanding village chiefs under the  Rotary Club of Metro Baguio search for best-performing leaders in the grassroots level, led the members of the Irisan “Lupon” at the awards rites infront of the city hall last Monday morning.

Imelda Barangay led by punong barangay Arturo Rapelo, also a Rotary honoree, received P20,000 for finishing second, while Middle Quezon Hill under punong barangay Edita Ibarra, received P15,000 as third-placer.

Lourdes Subdivision under punong barangay Benjamin Macadangdang was good for P10,000 cash prize as fourth placer while Loakan Proper led by punong barangay Jesusa Vizcaya, took P7,000 as fifth-placer.

Rounding up the top 11, with each receiving P5,000, were Upper Rock quarry under Luis Badecao, Holy Ghost Proper led by James Mastinggal, City Camp Proper under Aurora Abellera, Fairview under Justina Andaya, Pinget led by Teresita de Guzman and Pacdal under Roberto Medina.

Also honored by city officials led by mayor Mauricio Domogan were finalists Kabayanihan, Dontogan, Middle Quirino Hill, Upper General Luna, Hillside, Sto. Nino, Puliwes, West Bayan Park, Upper Quirino-Magsaysay, South Drive, Alfonso Tabora, Pinsao Proper, Loakan Apugan and New Lucban Barangays.

Assistant city prosecutor Edwin Brian Sagsago, lawyer Elnora Tabdi of the Baguio City Police Office, Juliet Gumangan of the Department of the Interior and Local Government, Nerissa Bayan of the Association of Barangay Councils and AlbertoTomas of the Special Services Division (SSD) of the city mayor’s office served as board of judges.

The SSD headed by Noel Mabutas served as the secretariat of the annual contest. – ***

About these ads
Posted in: news